Home Page


Welcome to the Governors of St Matthew's.

The Governing Body
The Governors are volunteers from all walks of life who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education by supporting the school.

The Governors work together as a body to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction and that the school delivers a good quality education by holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school.

They ensure and oversee the financial procedures of the school, making sure money is well spent.
At St Matthew’s CEVAP School there are 14 members of the Governing Body made up of representatives from St Matthew’s Church (Foundation Governors), the Local Authority, the parent body and the staff body.

The majority of the Governors are Foundation Governors, they must also ensure that the school is led and managed in accordance with its Trust Deed and its Christian ethos statement.

Meet the Governors

Meet the Governors 1 Catherine Barratt - Chair of Governors
Meet the Governors 2 Derek Ramsay - Vice Chair & Safeguarding Governor
Meet the Governors 3 Gillian Bailey - KS1 & Curriculum

Governor Pen Portraits- Find out more about our Governors.

Code of Conduct for Governors

  • St Matthew's Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School,
  • Portman Road, Ipswich,
  • IP1 2AX
  • Tel: 01473 251614
  • Email: